Oh, Happy Day!

Our wedding was just that, the perfect depiction of Sam and I as a couple.  From the planning to the re-planning to the long distance to little last minute decisions, our wedding fit us to a T.  Sam and I have felt married from the very beginning. We moved into our relationship full force with traveling over-sea’s together at only 4 months into our relationship.  We opened a joint checking account at 7 months as well as moved to Portland, OR together at 8 months.  We waste no time.  So when we started talking about a wedding in August of 2013 – we thought, why wait?  This conversation happened in the end of November, 2012.  We were married beginning of March, 2013 – no time wasted (oh, and remember to throw in all of our other life events during those three short months as well but that’s neither here no there).

Luckily, we have amazing family and friends to help us pull our dream wedding together. Here’s how it all happened….

Invitations – our lovely friend, Yosh designed our wedding invitations in literally 3 days.  They were beautiful! We printed 200 invitations with formal invite, reception information and reply cards at Office Max and had them within 2 days.  I hand addressed them and they were out within a week of asking Yosh to design them!

Our venue- My mother found the venue and was so fearful that we wouldn’t like it.  Sam and I wanted a vintage feel but the pictures on their website were not all that inviting.  It was kind of a risk because we didn’t actually see the venue until the day before the wedding – thank god we LOVED it.  The Grand Hotel Ballroom was in the perfect location and sat right on top of The Pearl Ice cream parlor.  It was adorable.  The exposed brick walls and the archways in between the rooms provided the perfect amount of character.

Flowers & Table Settings – My lovely new mother in law took care of all of our table settings with the candles, flowers, etc. provided by The Cottage Garden –

0763     0824       0816

0810       0766    0758

Every table was different with varying sizes of vases, flowers, height and layouts. We added little photos of Sam and I at each table as well as to name each table with places that Sam and I shared memories in.  My very talented and generous from Megan, graciously wrote out all of our table names.  Not only that but she hand wrote all of our guest place settings as well.  At my bachelorette party, the rest of my bridesmaids helped out by cutting slits in wine corks to finish off the look of the place settings.  I loved the look and I also really appreciated the personal feel that was provided by my closest friends.  I love them and they helped to make our day absolutely perfect.

1038     0757                                         0771 0765

Other sweet touches included a handmade wooden display for our cupcakes which will also make an appearance at one of 07770811my bridesmaids, Mikka’s wedding come September so I’m happy for it to get more use.  It was rustic and beautiful.  The cupcakes were a last minute order as my mother knows me best.  I wanted to make the cupcakes before the wedding and she insisted we order them.  After some resistance, I caved and I’m so happy I did – they turned out wonderfully.  Our flavors were vanilla, chocolate, carrot and red velvet, providing something for everyone.  They were delicious and made up my breakfast the next morning.

Our thank you gift to our guests were cd’s of some of Sam and my favorite songs.  Yosh also designed the cd label which turned out great!  If you missed getting yours, our playlist included (to name a few): Marry Song -Band of Horses, A Little Tenderness – Otis Redding, Do You Remember- Jack Johnson, Say Goodbye – DMB, Home – Edward Sharpe & the Magnetic Zeros – Among other faves!  We hand stamped the envelopes with a custom Etsy order and they turned out just as we had hoped.

0841

For our guest book, we wanted something we could showcase so thanks again to Etsy for this great thumb printed tree!  We plan to display it in the entry way of our new home!

0779     0775   0770  0768

There are so many other things that went into making our wedding ideal for the two of us and I will continue to share photos in future blog posts.  For any direct links to any of our custom wedding decorations, feel free to message me and I’ll get them to you.  Huge thanks to family and friends for helping to pull all of this together and to my husband who spent his days with a baby strapped to him while he chose my hair piece, to grooms gifts to finalizing hotel rooms while I was busy working.  I wouldn’t change anything about our day.

1076

All photos in this post were taken by Tiffany Brubaker Photography.  We highly recommend her for your wedding taking place in the La Crosse, WI area.  Visit her online at: www.tiffanybrubaker.com

Leave a Reply

